I Got Away Today (Gilded Hills)

I wandered as I made my way North

Found some gilded hills, and a smile

And it was all made just for me

 

I didn’t plan a step as I moved forth

Found the best was waiting all the while

To welcome and to set me free

 

I sit alone, the way I walked the course

And this, by design

For my head to clear

 

I haven’t shame, I haven’t remorse

For a moment, it was all mine

Me, and the One who holds me most near

 

I said, “Father, Father…”

And said no more

Then my heart burst

 

“It was no burden, it was no bother…”

He said, and waited for

Me to make Him first

 

So I made a promise

That I would search

Like it was all a grand treasure

 

So He let me see this

From atop my perch

To give me this grand pleasure

 

And I usually don’t talk like this

Out here, in the open

But why shouldn’t I?

 

This… this… this sense of bliss

My tongue is frozen

Why should it all be mine?

 

I did nothing to earn

These gilded hills

Nor did you, I guarantee

 

But I can discern

It all fills

The hearts of you and me

 

Today, I ran away

To gain distance

From all the fuss

 

You should do the same

When you get a chance

He made it all for us.

 

He made it for you.

 

-Jeremiah 29:13

Leave a Reply

