Catch Me If You Can

I have this saying: “The older I get, the younger I realize I am.”

I want the fairytales and I want green eggs and ham

I want to sing “Mary Had a Little Lamb”

And sometimes, for a snack, I get out my milk and grahams

 

But sometimes, the world looks down on me

And I have to remind them I’m 23

No… 24… you see?

I can’t show you that “I am this many”

 

I feel less creative, but that could just be this season

Less imaginative, and that’s just pure treason

Far more furtive when I play my little games

Yet not very assertive, I don’t even rhyme the same

 

But there’s something to be said about becoming a man

And one day, my son will hold my hand

He’ll look up to me with this idea, grand

but funny enough, he’s the one who says “catch me if you can!”

2 thoughts on “Catch Me If You Can

Leave a Reply

