Canvas on Paper

Spending all my days

Trying to get out of my head

It’s awful cluttered up here

And I’d rather burn it all

To start over again in the empty hall

 

No one ever asks

So why should I tell

Nothing that remains

Was here when I was discovered

Now these breaths and screams are smothered

 

Let it go, let it go

I say to myself

Every heart’s cold

and every hand is shaking

Shaking just like mine

Misunderstood and undermined

By our ability to move forward

The talent of an honest lie

 

I just need a familiar face

Because the cold blank stare in these mirrors

Doesn’t know where to begin

 

Is this really the skeleton

Is this my closet

Or is this where I go to seek attention

 

Not every day

Is silk and stain

Or laughs and pain

Not every day, but today, I count my rings

Leave a Reply

