Adam and Eden

My dear, little friend

Your countenance is filled with courage

Your spine, straight, as the wind surges

You fear not an end

My dear, little friend

You stand up though not the greatest

You are stout against the tempest

But you don’t condescend

What gives you such pride

As I hold you in my rough hands

Your pristine, I can’t understand

How you can abide

Wherein do you confide

Deep and buried, yet take in the light

Sedentary, nomadic sight

Such a placid bride

For me, it’s Adam

Fearless amidst provenience

Flawed by an evil contrivance

Struck down by Balaam

For you, it’s Eden

With thorns and thickets and bracken

Without: dirt and dust and ashen

Not all green is glen

As guilt is my dun

So you have the sun

I owe not a debt

This smile I will stet

Sunny

Leave a Reply

