Ruminations of a Working Man, Pt. III

In an odd place… Somewhere far, far away from home.

… Or is it home, after all?

Embittered by all that surrounds me day after day, anywhere seems like home. Mayhaps it’s simply a sign that I’ve been home too long. The monotonous 30-minute drive to and from work Monday through Friday, and the eight hours of spent, occasionally wasted, existence in between. At this point, it feels as if all I have to leave behind is a carbon footprint.

But now, it feels like the first day the sun has truly shined in a week. But do I truly wish I were there, or am I increasingly infatuated with it because I am here and I may only go there in my mind?

If absence makes the heart grow fonder, then reminiscence is the essence of Love.

Substandard

Leave a Reply

